Necmettin Erbakan University Faculty of Theology

- Introduction and Short History -



Necmettin Erbakan University Faculty of Theology was inaugurated on November 24, 1962 as Higher Institute of Islam (Yüksek İslam Enstitüsü), subordinate to Ministry of Education. It was originally a 4-year-undergraduate school designed to train teachers of Islam for primary and secondary schools.

On July 20, 1982, it was integrated into Selçuk University, becoming one of the earliest Faculties of Theology in Turkey. The Faculty had maintained this status for 30 years. In December 2011, it was made part of the newly established Necmettin Erbakan University along with the faculties of medicine and education.

The Faculty currently continues its education in its dedicated building in Meram, Konya. It consists of four departments: Basic Islamic Sciences, Philosophical and Religious Sciences, Islamic History and Arts, and Religious Culture and Ethics Teachers’ Training.

The academic staff consists of 35 full professors, 17 associate professors, 10 assistant professors, 7 instructors, 30 research assistants (6 of them holding their Ph.D.s) and a library specialist, totaling 99 persons.

Facilities of the faculty include a computer lab, a marbling and book binding workshop, an indoor sports saloon, several student clubs, and a students’ canteen. The open-shelf library enhances undergraduate and graduate studies with its 33.000 books and academic periodicals. The Faculty also provides an unlimited internet access for research and administrational purposes.

A one full year compulsory Arabic preparatory program was started in the 2010-2011 academic year. The educational materials used for teaching Arabic have been prepared and constantly updated by the academic staff themselves. Undergraduate students need to prepare a BA thesis for graduation. In addition to weekly seminars, held in the form of lectures or panels, the Faculty organizes each year one national or international conference in various fields.

The Faculty offers MA and PhD programs in all Islamic fields in cooperation with the Graduate Studies Departments such as Social Sciences Institute and Educational Sciences Institute.

The first graduates are the class of 1966 and during the last 46 years approximately 6600 male and 1600 female students graduated. The Faculty has organized two alumni meetings in the 41st and 45th years of graduation, in 2006 and 2010.

The graduates can function as teachers of religion, teaching either “Religious Culture and Ethics” courses at regular high schools or a variety of Islamic courses at religious vocational high schools (İmam-Hatip Lisesi). They can also work for the Presidency of Religious Affairs as imams and preachers. Those graduates, who want to become a teacher, need to receive additional pedagogical formation courses during or after their five-year education.

The website of the Faculty is http://www.ilahiyat.konya.edu.tr/. (It is currently only in Turkish.) It includes a discussion forum, an alumni database, and some statistical data of the school. The website offers a catalogue search of the library of the Faculty and the private libraries of academic staff.

Following are the peer-reviewed journals that have been edited and published by the Faculty members:

* İlahiyat Fakültesi Dergisi (The Academic Journal of the Faculty), published biannually since 1982. Full text is available at http://www.ilahiyat.konya.edu.tr/?bolum=35.

* Marife (Gnosis), published triannually since 2000. Abstracts are available at www.marife.org

* ISTEM (Islam San’at, Tarih, Edebiyat ve Mûsikisi Dergisi), published biannually since 2003. Full text is available at www.istem.org

* İslam Hukuku Araştırmaları Dergisi (Journal of Islamic Law Studies, since 2003), biannually published. Full text is available at www.islamhukuku.com

* Türk-İslam Medeniyeti İlmi Araştırmalar Dergisi (Studies of Turkish Islamic Civilization), published biannually since 2006.


Home Page | Necmettin Erbakan University | Contact Us